Modified Admin and Manager Permissions

To provide greater flexibility to define administrative rights across the platform, Idea Spotlight now supports the following functionality:

Admins permissions

There are two levels of Admin users:

System Admin

Super users with full access across the platform. This role is assigned on the Admin Panel > Users.

Idea Space/Co-creation Community Admins

The existing Idea Space/Co-creation Community Manager role has been renamed Ideas Space/Co-creation Community Admin to reflect that users with these permissions have full admin rights  (i.e. manage membership, content, etc) within the context of their area (Idea Space or Co-creation Community).

This permission is granted when a user is added as an Idea Space Admin or Co-creation Community Admin when adding or editing an Idea Space or Co-creation Community.

Note: All existing Idea Space Managers will now be Idea Space Admins.

Idea_Space_admins_and_managers.png

Idea Space

Co-creation_Community_admins___managers.png

Co-creation Community

Manager permissions

There are two levels of Manager users:

Manager

The existing Manager role has been modified to give users permission to create content (Challenges, Conversations), manage the content they create and assign other users to manage the created content (see new Content Manager role below), but does not give a Manager similar permission for content they did not create.

Although a Manager can create content, they cannot delete that content. Only a System Admin can delete a Challenge or Conversation.

This role is assigned on the Admin Panel > Users and grants permission to create content in the main site, but does not give the user permission to create content within an Idea Space or Co-creation Community.

Idea Space/Co-creation Community Manager

This is a new role that gives users permission to create content (Challenges, Conversations), manage the content they create and assign other users to manage the created content (see new Content Manager role below), but does not give an Idea Space Manager or Co-creation Community Manager similar permission for content they did not create.

Although an Idea Space Manager or Co-creation Community can create content, they cannot delete that content. Only an Admin user can delete a Challenge or Conversation.

This permission is granted by the Idea Space/Co-creation Community Admin when adding or editing an Idea Space or Co-creation Community. The user is granted the permission for the applicable Idea Space or Co-creation Community only.

Content Manager permissions

The Content Manager permission is a new permission specific to a Challenge or Conversation and is granted by the creator of the content when the content is created or edited. This permission gives assigned users the ability to manage the specific content (Challenge or Conversation) only. For example, they can edit the Challenge description and settings, progress ideas, add evaluators, etc.

Multiple users can be added as Content Managers for a specific Challenge or Conversation. Each user added to the content has the same permissions for that content.

A Content Manager cannot delete the content. Only an Admin user can delete a Challenge or Conversation.

This permission is granted by the user that creates or edits the content. The user is granted the permission for the specific Challenge or Conversation only.

Screen_Shot_2017-12-06_at_19.46.04.png

Challenge Manager

Screen_Shot_2017-12-06_at_19.49.32.png

Conversation Manager

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk